But next year I’ll…

There are two days left of school, and at this point everyone is in some form of Next Year syndrome.  We all know what that includes.

It means not making this lesson really good because you’re already thinking about how you’ll start off the next year.

It means settling into review a bit earlier than normal because you don’t want to keep working in a broken system.

It means spending your planning writing a blog about the changes you’ll make instead of grading those exams!

I’m not proud of it, in fact I’m ashamed.  I could make excuses about “tough year” or “too much rain,”  but it’s really just a choice I made a short time ago.  I chose to try to coast in to the end of the year, and now I have to deal with the consequences.  I can’t go back and re-teach some of those last lessons, but I can slam my butt in the chair and get those tests graded now.

Ultimately, if I want to be a better teacher, I’m going to have to make better choices.  Now.

Leave a Reply

