Pay it forward

This is the end of my third year of teaching, and my last year at this school. I’ll be taking two years away from teaching to live in Germany! I’m very fortunate to have a wife who just finished her PhD in geology (studying glaciers) and was hired for a two year Post-Doc research position in Tubingen.

The point is, I’ve got two weeks of school left, and I’m trying to gather together a reasonable collection to pass on to the next teacher in Algebra II, Physics and PreCalculus. It helps that the math classes will be taught by my former student teacher, so he understands my system.
I bring this up for two reasons. First, I got diddly squat when I came in for my first year. I was handed a PreCalc book, told the state doesn’t have math standards beyond Algebra II or science standards beyond 10th grade. Second, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking through the flow and level of all three classes, and it would be a shame to let it go to waste.

So if you’re leaving a position, or even if you’re adding a first year teacher (sorry LA/SS people), please put together something cohesive that tells them what they’re expect to do by the end of the year.

And even better, write a letter to go with the materials. If they’re any good, I’ll post my three letters here in a bit.

Leave a Reply

