Exhaustion and Science Fair

I’m just going to throw this out there: I’m tired as all get out.

I blame science fair. In our school district, every honors student is required to participate in science fair. I am a person who is determined to get my students to learn something useful from anything we do. Therefore, science fair has become something I have to put a lot of effort into. Like 2 times as much effort as normal. I’m starting to see the reward, but the cost was substantial.

The thing about teenagers in school, is that they have a lot of trouble getting started. Invariably, they would say “i have no idea what to do for science fair.” I ask what are their interests? “Nothing that has to do with science.” Umm, everything has to do with science or engineering. “Nope, photography can’t be a science experiment” WHAAAT?

So what I’ve been doing furiously over the past week is taking that tiny morsel of an idea for each student or pair of students, and devising a science experiment that is cool and also feasible with just 2 months for setup and data collection. It turns out I’m pretty good at this – based on the number of students that have become much more enthusiastic about science fair.

So if you’re out there and you are helping your kids through science fair, put in the effort at the beginning to help them find an experiment that doesn’t just come from a website. I’m sure they’ll appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

