New Situation

I haven’t updated this blog for awhile, and since the last post many things have changed.  Here is a list:

1)  My spouse got a faculty position in Wisconsin, and we moved to near Milwaukee.

2)  I got a position teaching math (algebra II and geometry) at a local high school.

3)  We moved from Germany to Wisconsin

4)  I am now working more hours, with more students and with less pay than I ever have as a teacher.

5)  Due to big changes in the school organization, there has been almost no progress made towards common core alignment, and the math curriculum is straight out of a 2007 textbook.  I spend a lot of time thinking of ways to change the “lessons.”

6)  This isn’t new, but I feel like I’m exhausted all of the time.

I blame most (not all) or this on the current aversion to taxes and providing schools with the funding and resources to do the jobs that we are tasked to do.  Losing collective bargaining in this state is just making the abuse of teachers (and school administrators frankly – their jobs are only getting harder also) legal.  This isn’t a political argument, it’s just about the simple calculation that the pay hasn’t changed but the job has gotten way harder.

This ended up as a bit of a rant, but I wanted to get that off my chest in a public forum.

I intend to participate in the Math Twitter Blog o Sphere challenges, so look for those if you ever read this blog.

One thought on “New Situation

  1. …and Wisconsin is fairly decent in terms of rankings in the US, I think. Having only taught now in TN and MO, I can’t imagine how great your experience must be there and before that if this is a struggle!

Leave a Reply

